Dynamo Dos

MLS NEXT Pro playoff format and schedule announced


MLS NEXT Pro today announced the format and schedule for the inaugural MLS NEXT Pro Playoffs. Following a dynamic first season in 2022, eight of the League’s 21 clubs will qualify for the MLS NEXT Pro Playoffs – four each from the Eastern and Western Conferences. Within each conference, the two Division Champions plus the two teams with the next-highest point totals will qualify.

The 2022 MLS NEXT Pro Playoffs will consist of seven single-elimination matches hosted by the higher-seeded club across three consecutive weekends. Following MLS NEXT Pro Decision Day this Sunday, September 18, the MLS NEXT Pro Playoffs will begin the weekend of September 23 and culminate with MLS NEXT Pro Cup on October 8:

·      Conference Semifinals (four matches): September 23-25 (No. 1 vs. No. 4 and No. 2 vs. No. 3)

·      Conference Finals (two matches): September 30-October 2

·      MLS NEXT Pro Cup (one match): October 8

Houston Dynamo 2 qualified for the postseason with a 1-0 victory over St. Louis CITY 2 at AVEVA Stadium on Sept. 3. The team will close the regular season on Sept. 18 at home against North Texas SC. The team could be in contention to host a postseason game with a victory over their in-state rival on Sunday and has a 1-0-1 (WLD) record against North Texas this season.

Fans will be able to watch every game of the MLS NEXT Pro Playoffs and MLS NEXT Pro Cup live via enhanced broadcasts on mlsnextpro.com.

Final seeding for the first-ever MLS NEXT Pro Playoffs will be determined on Decision Day on Sunday. Three playoff spots remain unclaimed in the Eastern Conference, with Columbus Crew 2 (52 points, 15-3-5) being the sole team in the East to have clinched their position. The West is set: Tacoma Defiance (49 points, 14-5-4), St Louis CITY2 (48 points, 15-6-2), North Texas SC (46 points, 13-5-5) and Houston Dynamo 2 (46 points, 13-5-5) have all clinched spots and enter Decision Day awaiting their final seeding. VIEW STANDINGS

Decision Day will feature 10 intraconference matches: five Eastern Conference games will kick off at 3:00 p.m. ET, followed by five Western Conference games beginning at 7:00 p.m. ET. All games can be viewed on mlsnextpro.com and the excitement of Decision Day can be followed on Twitter and Instagram.