Houston Dash earn first win of the season over Chicago Red Stars 


Houston Dash earned its first win of the season following a 2-1 victory over the Chicago Red Stars. With the win, Houston has now defeated the Red Stars three-consecutive times in the regular season since last year.

Houston regained the lead in the 60th minute of the match after being awarded a penalty kick. The video assistant referee deemed that forward Diana Ordóñez was fouled in the box by a Chicago defender. Ordóñez then converted from the spot for the second goal of the match and her first goal in orange. 

Chicago equalized in the 18th minute following an own goal by the Houston defense following a corner kick.

Houston took the lead four minutes into the match after forward Ebony Salmon found forward Maria Sanchez who was making a run in the middle of the box. Salmon drew several defenders as she ran down the far-left side of the field. Salmon then made one final pass to Sanchez who was open and found the back of the net. 

Defender Allysha Chapman made a crucial save in 89th minute off a corner kick to preserve Houston’s lead. The defender was set on the near post as the Chicago attack attempted to level the score and salvage a point. Chapman was able to get her head on the shot to deflect the ball over the cross bar and out.  

Three minutes into the second half, Houston had an open look at goal with two players in the box at an attempt to score the go-ahead goal. The Chicago defense was able to clear the ball before the Dash could regain possession. 

Salmon nearly extended the lead in the 15th minute after finding herself one-on-one with Chicago and USWNT goalkeeper Alyssa Naeher. Naeher made a last second save to deflect Salmon’s shot.

Houston Dash will return to league play on Friday, April 14 as the team travels to the Pacific Northwest to take on the reigning champion Portland Thorns. The Dash will be in action during the April FIFA International Window as they play the Mexican Women’s National team on Tuesday, April 11 at Shell Energy Stadium as part of inaugural MexTour W series. Tickets can be purchased here.