Concacaf announced the draw for the W Championship on Tuesday, the tournament is set to take place later this summer in Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico. The eight-team tournament is scheduled to start on July 4 and run through July 18.  

The United States and Canada, who are the highest ranked teams in Concacaf, were the top seeds and automatically placed atop Group A and B, respectively. Mexico was the first team drawn from the second pod and placed in Group A alongside the USWNT, Jamaica and Haiti to round out Group A. Canada is set to face Costa Rica, Panama, and Trinadad and Tobago in Group B.  

Houston has four players on its roster who will compete for a chance to earn their bid to the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand. The top two teams in each group will advance to the semifinals and secure their place in the World Cup. The third place teams in each group will advance to a inter-confederation playoff and this tournament will also determine the Concacaf representatives for the 2024 Olympic Games in Paris.  

Maria Sanchez is expected to join Mexico for the qualifying tournament and Sophie Schmidt, Nichelle Prince and Allysha Chapman are expected to join Canada.  

Below are the groups and placements for the 2022 CONCACAF W Championship:

2022 CONCACAF W Championships Groups
A1 - United States
B1 - Canada
A2 - Mexico
B2 - Costa Rica
A3 - Jamaica
B3 - Panama
A4 - Haiti
B4 - Trinidad and Tobago