Houston Dynamo defender DaMarcus Beasley has won the Major League Soccer Fair Play Individual Award, MLS announced today. Beasley becomes the first Houston Dynamo player to win this award. 

A two-time MLS All-Star and U.S. Men’s National Team legend, Beasley averaged a league-low .54 fouls per outing after logging 1,985 minutes over the span of 24 regular season games. With starts in all but two of his 2017 regular season appearances, Beasley was unblemished in disciplinary action, not receiving a single yellow card or red card through league play. A consummate leader of Houston’s defensive unit, Beasley committed the fewest fouls of any active player on a Dynamo backline that this season posted the best home record in the Western Conference.

Jahmir Hyka (San Jose Earthquakes) and Dave Romney (LA Galaxy) were finalists for the award, which is selected based upon subjective evaluations on sportsmanlike behavior, as well as objective criteria such as fouls committed, cards received, games and minutes played to select the winner.

Along with the MLS Fair Play Individual Award, the league announced Seattle Sounders FC as the winners of the MLS Fair Play Team Award. Additionally, Professional Referee Organization officials Allen Chapman and Corey Parker have been tabbed as Referee and Assistant Referee of the Year, respectively.

The Houston Dynamo will continue their run in the Audi 2017 MLS Cup Playoffs on Tuesday, Nov. 21 at BBVA Compass Stadium against the Sounders in Leg 1 of the Western Conference Championship, presented by Houston Methodist.

Tickets for the first leg of the Western Conference Championship are on sale now at HoustonDynamo.com/Playoffs, with prices starting at $32. Fans can also call 713-276-GOAL to purchase tickets Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. CST, or purchase tickets at the BBVA Compass Stadium box office daily from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Fair Play Award - Individual Winners:

2017: DaMarcus Beasley – Houston Dynamo
2016: Keegan Rosenberry – Philadelphia Union
2015: Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers
2014: Michael Parkhurst – Columbus Crew SC
2013: Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers
2012:  Logan Pause – Chicago Fire
2011:  Sébastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union
2010:  Sébastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union
2009:  Steve Ralston – New England Revolution
2008:  Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2007:  Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2006:  Chris Klein – Real Salt Lake
2005:  Ronald Cerritos – San Jose Earthquakes
2004:  Eddie Pope – MetroStars
2003:  Brian McBride – Columbus Crew
2002:  Mark Chung – Colorado Rapids
2001:  Alex Pineda Chacon – Miami Fusion
2000:  Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny
1999:  Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny
1998:  Thomas Dooley – Columbus Crew
1997:  Mark Chung – Kansas City Wizards