Houston Dynamo FC has protected 12 players in advance of Friday’s MLS Expansion Draft. By protecting the players, they cannot be selected by St. Louis CITY SC, Major League Soccer’s 29th club. The Expansion Draft is scheduled for Friday, Nov. 11 at 6 p.m. and fans can watch the event on MLSSoccer.com. 

The full list of protected players is available below in alphabetical order:

Houston Dynamo Football Club Protected Players  

FW Corey Baird

MF Adalberto Carrasquilla 

GK Steve Clark 

DF Griffin Dorsey 

FW Sebas Ferreira

DF Teenage Hadebe 

MF Héctor Herrera

DF Adam Lundkvist 

FW Nelson Quinones

DF Daniel Steres 

FW Thor Ulfarsson

MF Matias Vera 

Additionally, Juan Castilla, Brooklyn Raines, Daniel Rios and Xavier Valdez are classified as Homegrown Players and are not eligible for selection. Defender Ethan Bartlow is also not eligible as a Generation adidas player.

The players eligible for the Expansion Draft are FW Beto Avila, FW Mateo Bajamich, MF Darwin Cerén, MF Joe Corona, DF Ian Hoffmann, DF Sam Junqua, FW Nico Lemoine, GK Michael Nelson, DF Tim Parker, FW Darwin Quintero, MF Memo Rodriguez, FW Thiago, DF Zarek Valentin and DF Zeca. 

St. Louis CITY SC may select up to five players from the eligible MLS player pool on Friday. Only a single player can be drafted from any one club. Five teams are exempt from losing players after having players selected by Charlotte FC in the 2021 MLS Expansion Draft: Austin FC, Atlanta United, D.C. United, Los Angeles Football Club, and New York City FC.

A full overview of the 2022 MLS Expansion Draft is at MLSSoccer.com.