Houston Dynamo FC announce roster decisions following run to Western Conference Final

HOUSTON – (Monday, Dec. 4, 2023) – Houston Dynamo FC enter the offseason with 22 on the roster following the postseason run to the Western Conference Final. The team exercised 2024 contract options on four players, declined options for eight players and two players are out of contract following the 2023 season. 

“I want to thank every player and staff member who made the 2023 season so memorable. We took a major step forward in the resurgence of our club, making a deep playoff run, winning the fourth major trophy in our club’s history and creating a clear identity,” Dynamo general manager, Pat Onstad said. “As we look forward, we return most of the core of our roster and staff. For those not returning, I wanted to thank them for their contributions this season and wish them well in the next step of their careers. We are already hard at work to strengthen the team in the coming transfer windows.”

Houston exercised 2024 contract options on midfielder Luis Caicedo, defender Tate Schmitt, forward Thor Úlfarsson and goalkeeper Xavier Valdez.

The Club declined the 2024 contract options for the following players: forward Ifunanyachi Achara, midfielder Charles Auguste, forward Beto Avila, defender Teenage Hadebe, defender Mujeeb Murana, forward Daniel Rios and midfielder Matías Vera. Forward Iván Franco will return to Paraguay following the conclusion of his loan for the 2023 season.

Forward Corey Baird and defender Griffin Dorsey are out of contract and free agents. The club is currently negotiating with select players about their return to the team for the 2024 campaign.

The Dynamo enter the 2024 season with the following 18 players under contract: forward Amine Bassi, defender Ethan Bartlow, midfielder Adalberto “Coco” Carrasquilla, goalkeeper Steve Clark, midfielder Artur, defender Micael, defender Franco Escobar, forward Sebas Ferreira, defender Chase Gasper, midfielder Héctor Herrera, forward Aliyu Ibrahim, midfielder Sebastian Kowalczyk, forward Nelson Quiñónes, midfielder Brooklyn Raines, defender Brad Smith, defender Daniel Steres, defender Erik Sviatchenko and goalkeeper Andrew Tarbell.

Houston’s updated roster can be found below listed alphabetically by position:

Goalkeepers (3): Steve Clark, Andrew Tarbell, Xavier Valdez

Defenders (8): Ethan Bartlow,Micael,Franco Escobar, Chase Gasper, Tate SchmittBrad Smith, Daniel Steres, Erik Sviatchenko

Midfielders (6): Luis Caicedo, Adalberto Carrasquilla, Artur, Héctor Herrera, Sebastian Kowalczyk, Brooklyn Raines

Forwards (5): Amine Bassi, Sebas Ferreira, Aliyu Ibrahim, Nelson Quiñónes, Thor Úlfarsson


Houston Dynamo FC is a Major League Soccer team that has won two MLS Cup championships, two Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cups and four conference championships in its first 17 seasons and has qualified to represent the United States in international competition eight times. The Dynamo have advanced to the Conference Championship series eight times in 17 years, the most of any Major League Soccer team since 2006; and the club’s four appearances in the MLS Cup Final are tied for the most in the league during that time span. Houston Dynamo FC is a part of the Houston Dynamo Football Club, a multi-faceted organization that includes the Dynamo, the Houston Dash and the Houston Dynamo Academy as well as Dynamo and Dash Charities. The team trains at the Champions Field at Houston Sports Park (HSP), the premier training facility in Southeast Texas, and plays its home matches at Shell Energy Stadium in downtown Houston. For more information, log on to or call (713) 276-7500.       

--- Hold It Down ---