Countdown to Opening Day: 6 Days -- Only six head coaches in American professional sports have longer tenure than Dominic Kinnear

With the Dynamo set to begin the 2013 season in just 6 days – against D.C. United at BBVA Compass Stadium on March 2 – we are counting down to kickoff with a Dynamo-centric countdown to Opening Day. See the bottom of this post for the complete countdown list.

Each day, we’ll post a description of what makes the number significant. If you have any thoughts on the subjects, post them in the comment section below.

Today, we continue with #6:

Dynamo head coach Dominic Kinnear is the longest-tenured head coach in Major League Soccer after completing his ninth consecutive season with the Earthquakes/Dynamo in 2012. He was promoted from assistant coach to head coach of the San Jose Earthquakes after the 2003 season and managed the Quakes in their final two seasons in San Jose before the franchise moved to Houston. He's remained in charge of the Dynamo since their inception, guiding the club to two MLS Cup titles and four MLS Cup final appearances in seven seasons. 

Only six head coaches/managers in American professional sports have been with their current club longer than Kinnear. The list below details the longest-tenured head coaches in American professional sports.

1996 Greg Popovich San Antonio Spurs (NBA)  
1998 Barry Trotz Nashville Predators (NHL)  
2000 Bill Belicheck New England Patriots (NFL)  
2000 Mike Scioscia LA Angels of Anaheim (MLB)  
2002 Ron Gardenhire Minnesota Twins (MLB)  
2003 Marvin Lewis Cincinnati Bengals (NFL)  
2004 Dominic Kinnear San Jose Earthquakes/Houston Dynamo (MLS) Named head coach December 2003
2004 Tom Coughlin New York Giants (NFL) Named head coach January 2004
2004 Doc Rivers Boston Celtics (NBA) Named head coach April 2004
2005 Charlie Manuel Philadelphia Phillies (MLB) Named head coach November 2004

Kinnear has guided two of the four clubs in the history of MLS that completed an unbeaten home season (2012 Dynamo and 2005 Earthquakes). He leads the Dynamo into the 2013 season with a 25-game regular season home unbeaten streak that can be extended on Saturday as the Dynamo open the season against D.C. United in a rematch of the 2012 Eastern Conference Championship.


Return to the blog on Monday for #5 on our Countdown to Opening Day.

Complete Countdown to Opening Day List:

#7 - Seven years of Orange memories

#8 - Dynamo among eight remaining teams in CONCACAF Champions League

#9 - Dynamo treat fans to nine-point week

#10 - Boniek Garcia improved Dynamo's goal difference by 10 after arrival

#11 - Dynamo set another club record with 11 home wins in 2012

#12 - Tally Hall sets club record with 12 shutouts in 2012

#13 - 13 different goal scorers in 2012

#14 - Dynamo win 14 regular season games in 2012

#15 - Brad Davis' career goals and assists vs. D.C. United 

#16 - Will Bruin sets franchise record with 16 goals in all competitions

#17 - Dynamo scored 17 goals in final 15 minutes of games in 2012

#18 - Dynamo have lost just 18 MLS home games in seven years

#19 - Dynamo finish 2012 with franchise best +19 home goal differential

#20 - Brad Davis' combined goals and assists in 2011 and 2012