ISI Photo

Seven Houston Dash players named to provisional rosters for 2018 CONCACAF Women’s Championships

Seven Houston Dash players were named to the provisional rosters for the Canadian, Mexican and the United States Women’s National Teams for the 2018 CONCACAF Women’s Championship, the confederation announced today.  

The United States and Mexico will compete in Group B, which begins on Oct. 4. Canada will open Group A play on Oct. 5 in Edinburg, Texas. The top two teams from each group will meet in Frisco, Texas to determine the three teams that will represent CONCACAF at the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup. The fourth-place team will advance to a playoff with a representative from CONEMBOL.  

Goalkeeper Jane Campbell, midfielder Sofia Huerta and forward Kealia Ohai were named to the U.S. Women’s National Team roster by head coach Jill Ellis. Campbell finished second among NWSL ‘keepers with a career-high 90 saves this season and recently won the 2018 Nordic Cup with the U-23 USWNT. Huerta scored five goals and tallied four assists in 12 games for Houston after joining the Dash in June via a trade with the Chicago Red Stars, and finished the year with eight goals and six assists overall. Ohai contributed to nine goals in 19 appearances this season after returning in April from a torn ACL suffered in 2017.  

Goalkeeper Bianca Henninger was named to the provisional roster for the Mexican Women’s National Team. She finished with a clean sheet and led Mexico to a gold medal as a second-half substitute in the final of the 2018 Central American and Caribbean Games in Barranquilla last July.   

Defenders Lindsey AgnewAllysha Chapman and forward Nichelle Prince were named to the Canadian Women’s National Team roster by head coach Kenneth Heiner-Møller. Prince scored the game-winning goal in Canada’s 1-0 victory over Brazil on Sept. 2 in Ottowa. Chapman was named the player of the game after earning her 53rd cap with the senior squad. The duo joined Agnew in Canada’s final match prior to the regional tournament.