Corey Ashe, Brad Davis named to 2013 MLS All-Star gameday roster

2013 MLS All-Star Game

Houston Dynamo midfielder Brad Davis and defender Corey Ashe have been selected to the 20-man gameday roster for the 2013 AT&T MLS All-Star Game, Major League Soccer announced today. The 2013 All-Star Game against Italian side AS Roma will be held on July 31 at 8 p.m. CT (ESPN2) at Sporting Park in Kansas City.

Davis, 31, was selected to the Fan XI after online, text and Twitter voting earlier this month, which did not necessitate his inclusion on the game day roster. Currently playing in his 12th MLS season (8th with Dynamo), Davis has three goals and three assists in 12 league games this year. This is his sixth All-Star selection.

Davis was an instrumental piece in Houston’s run to back-to-back MLS Cup championships in 2006 and 2007 and MLS Cup appearances in 2011 and 2012. Davis has 11 international appearances to date for the U.S. Men’s National Team, the most recent against Germany (June 2), Panama (June 11) and Honduras (June 18).

Ashe, 27, is currently on national team duty with the United States for the Gold Cup. This is his second All-Star selection. Drafted by the Dynamo out of the University of North Carolina in 2007, Ashe has become a fixture at left back, starting 30 games in each of the last two seasons and 17 regular season games this year.

The Virginia Beach, VA native is second on Houston’s all-time games played list in all competitions (224 games) and regular season games (176 games). Ashe helped the Dynamo win the 2007 MLS Cup and was named to the MLS All-Star team in 2011.

2013 MLS All-Star Gameday Roster

Goalkeepers: Raul Fernández (FC Dallas), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders:Corey Ashe (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Tony Beltran (Real Salt Lake), Aurélien Collin (Sporting Kansas City), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Patrice Bernier (Montreal Impact), Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Will Johnson (Portland Timbers), Mike Magee (Chicago Fire), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards: Marco Di Vaio (Montreal Impact), Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls), Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Camilo Sanvezzo (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)