Defender DaMarcus Beasley named to the 2017 MLS All-Star Fan XI


Houston Dynamo defender DaMarcus Beasley was named to the 2017 MLS All-Star Fan XI, MLS announced today. The 2017 MLS All-Star Game, presented by Target, will be played on Wednesday, August 2 at Chicago’s Soldier Field at 8:00 p.m. CDT vs. Real Madrid and broadcast on FS1 and UniMás.

Beasley will be competing in his fifth overall All-Star game (2001-03, 2005, 2017) and second game representing the Dynamo. The American soccer legend scored in the 2003 edition he scored against Mexican club C.D. Guadalajara.

Beasley is the first Dynamo player to be named to MLS All-Star Fan XI since 2015, when he earned the recognition. The Dynamo have been represented by 11 different players and one head coach in MLS All-Star games. Previous Dynamo All-Stars are Brian Ching (5 times), Brad Davis (4), Dwayne De Rosario (3), U.S. international Geoff Cameron (3), Eddie Robinson (2), Corey Ashe (2), Pat Onstad (2), current Dynamo captain Ricardo Clark (2), Stuart Holden (1), and Tally Hall (1); Dominic Kinnear was named head coach of the MLS All-Star team in 2009. Ching scored a goal against Manchester United in Houston in 2010, and De Rosario was named MVP after scoring the game-winning goal against Chelsea in 2006 and scored another game-winning goal in a 3-2 victory over West Ham United in 2008.

Beasley is joined in the Fan XI by three FIFA World Cup champions and four U.S. Men’s National Team members. Amongst FIFA World Cup Champions are Brazilian Kaká (Orlando City SC), German Bastian Schweinsteiger (Chicago Fire) and Spain’s all-time leading scorer and reigning MLS Most Valuable Player David Villa (New York City). Members of the U.S. Men’s National Team are goalkeeper Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids); defender Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City), Greg Garza (Atlanta United), and midfielder Michael Bradley (Toronto FC).

2017 MLS All-Star Fan XI presented by Target

Goalkeeper:Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids)

Defenders:Greg Garza (Atlanta United), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City),DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo)

Midfielders:Bastian Schweinsteiger (Chicago Fire), Miguel Almirón (Atlanta United), Kaká (Orlando City SC), Michael Bradley(Toronto FC)

Forwards: David Villa (New York City FC), Nemanja Nikolić (Chicago Fire), Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC – EA SPORTS™ “More Than a Vote” Challenge)

The Dynamo will continue the 2017 season, presented by 76, on Wednesday, July 19 at 7 p.m. CDT against Minnesota United FC at TCF Bank Stadium. Houston returns to BBVA Compass Stadium on Saturday, July 29 at 7 p.m. against the Portland Timbers. For additional information and tickets, visit