Houston Dynamo Academy midfielder Marcelo Palomino (above, No. 10) has been called up to the U.S. Under-18 Men’s National Team for the Vaclav Jezek Youth Tournament in the Czech Republic from August 18-26. Palomino is one of 21 players selected by head coach Tab Ramos for the tournament.

Palomino, 17, was named Dynamo Academy Player of the Year following the 2017-18 season in which he scored 17 goals in 25 games, primarily while playing up with the U-19 squad. He was also named a 2017 USC Youth All-American and earned a spot in the U.S. Soccer Development Academy Central Conference Best XI. Over the summer, Palomino made four appearances and scored four goals with Brazos Valley Cavarly FC, the Dynamo’s U-23 PDL affiliate.

The U-18 Men’s National Team begins their tournament on August 21 against the United Arab Emirates, then face Bulgaria on August 22. The team finishes the group stage against the Czech Republic on August 24. Following the group stage on August 25, they will face an opponent from Group B with the same group finishing place. Group B consists of Hungary, Japan, Slovakia and Ukraine.

The USA has found recent success in the tournament, bring home the titles in 2014 and 2016.

Roster by Position:    

GOALKEEPERS (2): David Ochoa (Real Salt Lake; Oxnard, Calif.), Kristopher Shakes (Bethlehem Steel FC; Coral Springs, Fla.)

DEFENDERS (7): Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy; Lompoc, Calif.), Nico Benalcazar (New York City FC; Wilton, Conn.); Nathan Harriel (Chargers Soccer Club; Oldsmar, Fla.), Julian Hinojosa (FC Dallas; Garland, Texas), Owen Otasowie (Wolverhampton Wanderers FC; New York, N.Y.), Stuart Ritchie (FC Groningen; Schoolstraat, Netherlands), Leonardo Sepulveda (LA Galaxy; Corona, Calif.)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Taylor Booth (Unattached; Eden, Utah), Justin Haak (New York City FC; Brooklyn, N.Y.), Aidan Morris (Crew SC Academy; Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.); Marcelo Palomino (Houston Dynamo; Houston, Texas); Thomas Roberts (FC Dallas; Little Rock, Ark.), Indiana Vassilev (Aston Villa F.C.; Savannah, Ga.)

FORWARDS (6): Roberto Hategan (Sacremento Republic F.C.; Chicago, Ill.), Ulysses Llanez (LA Galaxy; Lynwood, Calif.), Axel Picaxo (Philadelphia Union; Chester Springs, Penn.), Bryan Reynolds (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas), Gabe Segal (Bethesda SC; Bethesda, Md.), Folarin Balogun (Arsenal FC; South Ockendon, England)